Andrea Matsumura, MD, MS, FACP

(503) 963-3030
Areas of Focus: 
Obstructive Sleep Apnea
Circadian Rhythm Disorders
Narcolepsy Movement Disorders of Sleep

About Me

I enjoy working with my patients and help to empower them to make educated collaborative decisions that aim at minimizing the impact of their illness to maximize their quality of life.

- Andrea Matsumura, MD, MS, FACP

Dr. Matsumura graduated from the University of Texas Medical School in San Antonio, Texas. She completed her internship and residency at Providence Portland Medical Center. She practiced Internal Medicine for 12 years before she went on to complete her fellowship in Sleep Medicine at Oregon Health and Science University.
Other Interests: 
In her free time, Dr. Matsumura enjoys spending time hiking with her family, cycling, running and swimming.

Education & Honors

Board Certified: 
  • Sleep Medicine
  • Internal Medicine
Education & Training: 
  • Fellowship, Sleep Medicine, Oregon Health & Science University, Portland, OR, 2015
  • Internship and Residency, Internal Medicine, Providence Portland Medical Center, Portland, OR, 2002
  • MD, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio Medical School, San Antonio, TX, 1999
  • MS, Biology, University of Texas at San Antonio, San Antonio, TX, 1995
  • BS, St. Mary's University, San Antonio, TX, 1992
  • Poster Presentation on PAP Naps in the Pediatric Population at the Pediatric Sleep conference 2015 and Sleep Medicine Conference 2016
  • Poster Presentation Approval at Pediatric Sleep Conference, 2015
  • Top Ten in Quality for Population Health Outcomes, KPNW, 2010
  • Scholarship, Indiana University Foreign Medicine, Kenya, 2001
  • Third Place, poster presentation, state ACP competition, 2002
  • Latin American Physicians Scholarship recipient, 1999
  • Case Book of Sleep Medicine, Second Edition, 2015, Exploding Head Syndrome
Other Activities: 
  • Member, Oregon Medical Association, 2015-present
  • Member, American Academy of Sleep Medicine, 2014-present
  • Fellow, American College of Physicians, 2010-present
  • American College of Physicians, 1999-present